Basis for Selection


The scholarship is awarded annually to deserving students who wish to attend a Catholic college or university.  The criteria for selection include both academic achievement and financial need of the student.  The scholarship may be renewed for a total of four (4) years provided the student maintains full-time status and a cumulative 3.0 grade point average or higher based on a 4.0 scale.  Final selection will be made by a selection committee appointed by the Margaret Maher Foundation.


Location Requirements


The scholarship is to assist students from the Lubbock and South Plains area. For applicants to be considered, they must be from one of the follow counties in Texas:

  • Bailey 
  • Borden 
  • Briscoe
  • Castro 
  • Cochran 
  • Crosby 
  • Dawson 
  • Dickens
  • Floyd 
  • Gaines 
  • Garza 
  • Hale 
  • Hockely 
  • Kent
  • Lamb 
  • Lubbock 
  • Lynn 
  • Motley 
  • Parmer 
  • Scurry  
  • Swisher 
  • Terry 
  • Yoakum